RSS Feed

South Park FTW

South Park FTW

Opinion on whether South Park is the most amazing show on earth is divided.  There are the people who believe that it’s obnoxious, crude, filthy and that watching it for hours at a stretch can affect your mental balance in the kind of way only a sputtering Arnab Goswami can.

I am an objective outside observer. There was a phase in my life, a dark phase, where I was unemployed, disillusioned and uncertain. That phase was spent in a haze of South Park. When I think of that period of my life, I remember dreaming of small squat little boys talking in unnaturally high pitched voices. When I cried myself to sleep, I imagined my eyes as little crosses and for a really long time my days were divided into reality (which alternated between frenzied job applications and a kind of comatose stupor) and Southpark.

Well, that phase of my life is over and now I can only watch one Southpark episode or maximum two at a time. Still I think of those days fondly and I remember even now, what an extraordinary and clever series it really was. So what if it gives you a headache sometimes, here are some reasons it kicked some serious ass.

All cool shows have a little slice of satire but I’ve never seen it so delicately executed as it was in Southpark. Every other episode has a “haha-but-that’s-so-true” moment and what’s brilliant is it’s delivered with the kind of unintelligent toilet humour that would otherwise make you sick.

southpark

That twisted brilliant episode “Scott Tennerman must die.”

The running gags. Whether it’s someone killing Kenny again (“Those bastards.”) or Stan barfing all over his girlfriend Wendy, you really have to hand it to the show for keeping ridiculous crap like that consistently funny. And for over 13 seasons.

The characters. Sure, they’re just a bunch of annoying sounding, dirty mouthed little dudes being wildly inappropriate and having dope adventures in a hick mountain town, but dig deeper. There are some profound character sketches there. Remember Butters? Timmy? Or even Token Black? (because he was the token black kid, geddit?). There are layers to these guys, that you wouldn’t even believe.

Out of the blue literary references.  Would I like a little Charles Dickens along with this weeks episode? Yes I would, please and thankyou. There is dialogue lifted straight out of A Christmas Carol in the episode Starvin Marvin, in season one. And it fits beautifully into the context of the plot.

Celebrities. Tons of them, worked into zany unbelievable story lines. A rogue Barbra Streisand. A hunted gone to seed Britney spears.

The lines “Godammit, Cartman,” ,“Screw you guys, I’m going home.” And the vague expression “M’kaaaay.”

Political satire, current affairs and alternate universes.

It’s unashamed inoffensiveness.

Give it a try, maybe  a second chance. This animated series is a study in awesomeness. Just dont watch it when you’re unemployed.

One response »

  1. Unashamed inoffensiveness…?

    But yeah, utter genius:

    It’ll be like you’re married, only instead of calling that you’ll be Buuuttt. Budd-eeez. You see? Butt Buddiesssss.

    And yet the question still hasn’t been resolved. The mind boggles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

