RSS Feed

Suits or straitjacket?

Suits or straitjacket?

What, I repeat, WHAT, is all this fuss about Suits? I don’t get it. Usually, I’m patient with television shows. “Oh Parks and Rec only really picked up in season 3.” “Well, you know I never really warmed to that chick in shameless in till about episode 5,” But Suits? Please!

The show starts with a premise that seems doable, a sharp corporate lawyer takes on a young protégé who has a terrible secret.  The illusion of sharp dialogue, a lot of walk and talk and lawyer jibber-jabber, hot paralegals in heels – they got all of those down to a T. But characters are too show-offy and smart alecky. They’re like the kind of people our teachers would slap and say “Ey, no need to be over smart.” One of the leads, Harvey Spectre, has a chip about the size of a mini desk globe on his shoulder and he struts about his a supposedly dashing half-smile that I don’t get. Hey, what’s the joke Harvey? That you’re an insufferable know-it all that gets away with smooth wordplay without doing the bare minimum? The other lead, the young pup, Mike Ross, scurries behind him looking scared and befuddled in turns. Why on earth for? He’s mostly the one with all the brainwaves. He was endearing. Then he became sad. Harvey and Angela Pearson,  (the tall, statuesque partner of the firm), have a relationship that smells vaguely of House and Cuddy, but minus the insane delivery and comic timing that Hugh Laurie has. The cases were bound to be un-dramatic. After all, the suits work at a corporate law firm not a criminal one so if an episode comes to a courtroom drama (usually the plot just stutters into pre-court settlements. Bleh), there’s less, “You can’t handle the truth,” and more “My clients name was not on the board of directors in 2002” Gasp. Gasp and shock all around.

So far, Rachel, who plays a too hot to be true, paralegal, is the most annoying. The way that character rolls her eyes, flips her hair and sashays through the halls in tight skirts makes me think she mis-marked her calendar on the day they were casting for 90210 and stumbled into this show instead. I flinched when she overdid the whole whispered “I’m not wearing any underwear” line. Talk about taking a sledgehammer to the face. And why does television and the movies like that line so much anyway?

This show is the sound and the fury, signifying nothing. Seriously, if you must watch it, try having a drink first.

About sheena dlima

I'm a Journalism student who graduated in English Literature. I like reading and television.

One response »

  1. I always wondered about the buzz around Suits as well! But then again, I tend to only hear about it from it my female friends, who are all borderline overly-attached about Harvey. Your review is pretty hilarious though! If I ever get around to watching it, I’ll make sure to do so after having a drink first.

    By the way, I’m friends with Shane and Tanya! Your brother showed me this site, and I love the posts! Will definitely come back for more. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

