RSS Feed

A universe of awesome

Posted on
A universe of awesome

I’m often accused of overselling books, movies and TV. When I recommend something to you, the words and phrases you are mostly likely to hear are “Brilliant”, “Best. Thing. Ever.” and “I want to have its babies.” At some point I’ll say, “If I had to just watch/read this over and over again for the rest of my life, I’d be the happiest person on the planet,” I may also say, “Superdupermegaawesomesexykillmenow.”

I don’t dabble in the extreme so much as I wade, swim and build little colonies in it. Why would I recommend something that’s just “good” or “nice”? What is the point of wasting time with mediocrity when we live in a world full of sparkling brilliance? When I tell you that book is the next major world religion, I mean it, goddamit!

So be warned. What is about to follow is a gush fest of great proportion. It’s a compliment carnival, it’s a glory jamboree, it’s a Mardi Gras of Mardi Gras (es?). The Newsroom, Supermen of Malegoan and Gangs of Wasseypur.

“I am too old to be governed by fear of dumb people”

The Newsroom is Aaron Sorkin’s newest show on HBO that explores the working of Atlantis Cable News and centres around the anchor Will, his executive producer Mackenzie and the others that work there. The pilot reeks of Sorkinism in the way that makes me wonderfully happy. There are long soliloquies, there are dramatic head twists and walk outs, there is a messed up love story and there is an idealistic dream to rise above shallowness and do something amazing. We’re not new to the feeling, though it usually comes to us in a haze of alcohol at 4 am. Also known as Wednesday night. We say, “Fuck this, I’m really going to change the world.” The Newsroom is that feeling with wings made of red bull, fortified with brilliance, dragons blood and glitter. I love it. I love everything about it. I love the actors, I love the verbosity and I absolutely love that most critics hate it for the moral high ground it takes. Screw critics. It has the makings of a masterpiece, even if it does come across as trying too hard. It deals with news issues that happened 2 years ago, effectively telling the media what they SHOULD have done, but so freaking what? At least, it assumes that its audience is smart. One of my biggest problems with Indian Television is that it doesn’t give the audience credit for intelligence. I was once a part of a focus group for an Indian channel that expounded the “you must dumb it down or most people won’t get it” theory. It angers me. Aaanyway, as I was saying, The Newsroom is a smart show, but I can’t help the feeling of foreboding I get whenever Sorkin puts a good show on the air. Ahem, Studio 60 on the sunset strip. Will The Newsroom go the same way? I really hope not.

P.S: I love Sorkin, but you guys should check out this video

Malegoan ka Superman

I saw Supermen of Malegoan this week and cannot stop recommending it to everyone I know. It’s a charming movie about passionate people who dream big and actually do something about it. The documentary is about a bunch of people attempting a parody of Superman, using a “koroma” (chroma) screen to make him fly. The aim is simply to entertain and the result is heart-warming and inspiring. The people of Malegoan are an audience that blurs the lines between the screen and their lives. Their passion made me walk out smiling and feeling like putz for whining about my life and work; you can do so much, if you really want to. It’s a movie that deserves a larger audience and more screenings. Go watch it before it leaves theatres; it’s the best way to spend an hour.

“Keh ke lenge uski”

Oh, Anurag Kashyap, how I love you so.  I’m sure, by now everyone’s read enough reviews of Gangs of Wasseypur to care so I won’t talk about the brilliant music, gritty visuals and the slap-you-in-the-face storyline. The movie stands out for incredibly cute love scenes (permisssson to lene chahiye na), the background score and Manoj Bajpai’s face. His face is so intriguing, vile and perverted; it floored me. Despite its run time of 2 hours and 40 minutes, your eyes are glued to the screen. Oh, and one of my favourite parts? The trailer of Gangs of Wasseypur II.

 

Leave a Reply

