RSS Feed

Awkward sex and Aamir Khan: Should you bother?

Posted on
Awkward sex and Aamir Khan: Should you bother?

Over the past week, I watched two new shows that have stirred much controversy, Here’s my take on them.

Girls

HBO’s new show Girls is about four girls living in New York City. There is a fat girl with an awful boyfriend, a pretty girl with an overly kind boyfriend, a virgin and a whore. Yup, friend group staples, of course.  Leaving the race and nepotism issues aside (because I don’t care about that), here are 5 reasons you should give HBO’s Girls a chance

1. If you like smart dialogues like “My medium baggage is that I bought four cupcakes and just ate one in your bathroom.” “What I’m having is a physical and inappropriate reaction to my total joy for you and your self discovery.”“I do explore, and right now I’m seeing this guy and sometimes I let him hit me on the side of my body, so…”

2. The characters, sometimes and in some moments, are completely believable.  20-year olds that deal with situations in a very insecure yet defiant fashion. Plus the protagonist is a chubby writer (ding ding ding).

3. If girl-centric shows are your guilty pleasure. (Every week I hate myself for watching New Girl and 2 broke girls, but I watch it anyway. This one’s a much better option.)

4. Lots of awkward sex. Finally, television acknowledges it. Finally.

5. It’s not Sex and the City

Satyameva Jayate

Aamir Khan’s much-awaited, much-debated, show airs on multiple channels in multiple languages. Two episodes down, here are 5 reasons, I watch Satyameva Jayate; you can use your own discretion with this one.

1. The cheesiness of the opening sequence and the overly emotional song at the end, though annoying, don’t take away from some of those stories the people on the show have.

2. We’ve forgotten that television still is a medium to create awareness. We might not care for the format or the set (that brick wall is eyuck) and the show may not change the world, but it might at least spark a thought in the minds of India’s large population.

3. Sure, NGOs and activists have been fighting against female infanticide and child sexual abuse for decades and now, just because a celebrity talks about it, it’s going to make a difference. I agree. But you cannot grudge Aamir Khan for using his ‘celebrity status’. At least he’s trying to do something with it. Bollywood has a major influence on us and sometimes, unfortunate as it is, it takes an Amitabh Bachchan to say “go get polio vaccines” for people to listen.

4. I’m a pseudo-cynic. I hope things will get better, and I hope someone will make it happen and I want to give this show that chance. Sure, many shows before have debated social evils, sure. But for whatever reason (they were English language shows, on channels that didn’t reach the masses, they didn’t have celebrities) they haven’t had an impact the way Satyameva Jayate has had. (I’m talking here, of course, about the Rajashthan government approving a fast track court for female feticide cases). Yes, he gets paid three crores, yes, there are aspects that aren’t focused on (What are the names of these illegal abortion clinics? And what is to be done when the parent is the sexual offender?) but he does get a lot of things right like…

5. The workshop at the end of episode two, where Aamir Khan teaches kids to differentiate good touch from bad, something most parents fail to do…wow.

– Sharanya

Leave a Reply

